Home Code Grand Illusion Musicals Downloads Guestbook About Us Contact Us



Grand Illusion - Prince of Paupers
The relesase of Brand New World in 2010 and all the postive repsone the album gained, was fuel for more song writing and only a couple of weeks after the Brand New World release, the first new songs was written. It only took a three months to come up with 15 songs and in August 2010 Anders, Peter and Per took of to Sherman Oaks in Los Angeles, to record with Gregg Bissonette (David Lee Roth, Spinal Tap, Ringo Starr), Steve Lukather (Toto), Jay Graydon (Airplay, Manhattan Transfer, Air Supply) and Tim Pierce (Rick Springfield, Micheal Jackson, Phil Collins). A big moment for the Gi boys to record with so many of their musical heroes.

Later on also legendary arranger/conductor Paul Buckmaster (Elton John, David Bowie) helped out with an orchestral arrangment for the song Gates of Fire and the Bosnian guitar wizard Muris Varajic did solos for 5 songs. Muris is a big musical injection for the band and he also joined us for a live gig in Augusth 2011. Robert Säll from Work of Art and W.E.T also do a solo for the Japanese bonus track Not For Sale. We would also like to introduce Staffan Stavert to you. He is now the new keyboard player in our "live Grand Illusion band". On this album Staffan plays keyboards on two songs. Kjell Klaesson is as usual helping us with acostic guitar.

Arlene Matza-Jackson has helped out writing most of the lyrics and the music is as always written by Anders Rydholm.

Firefest 2010
The band also did a couple of live gigs during 2010 and the big highlight of the year was the Firefest appearance in October in Nottingham, UK. Grand Illusion kicked of the festival and the boys were thrilled to play in front of such a devoted croud. During the rehearsals for Firefest, lead singer Peter Sundell caught Lumonia and he had to struggle hard to be able to sing at all and after the show he totally lost his voice. It took more than three months before Peter was back to normal and the recordings for Prince of Paupers could continue.

The album will be released October 19 in Japan through Marquee/Avalon and through AorHeaven on October 29th in Europe.

Music: Anders Rydholm
Lyrics: Arlene Matza-Jackson, Anders Rydholm

Songs - Mp3 samples
1. Gates of Fire
2. Better Believe It
3. Prince of Paupers
4. So Faraway
5. St Teresas Love
6. Through This War
7. Eyes of Ice
8. Gone
9. Believe in Miracles
10. On and On
11. Under The Wire
12. Winds of Change
13. Not for Sale (Japanese bonus track)

Anders Rydholm - keyboards, bass, rhythm guitars
Peter Sundell - lead and background vocals
Per Svensson - lead and background vocals
Gregg Bissonette - drums
Steve Lukather - guitar solo on 4
Jay Graydon - guitar solo on 2
Tim Pierce - rhythm guitars and guitar solos on 5, 6, 8, 9,10, 12
Muris Varajic- guitar solo on 1, 3, 7, 9, 11
Robert Säll - guitar solo on 13
Paul Buckmaster - orchestral arrangmentrs and synths on 1
Kjell Klaesson - acoustic guitar on 9
Staffan Stavert - keyboards on 10, 13

Produced and arranged by: Anders Rydholm

Orchestral arrangement for Gates of Fire by: Paul Buckmaster

Recorded and mixed in GodisPåScen studio, Växjö, Sweden 2010 - 2011 by Anders Rydholm. Drums recorded in Woodcliff studios, Sherman Oaks, USA, by Frank Rosato. Guitar solos recorded by Tim Pierce, Jay Graydon, Muris Varajic, Robert Säll.
Mastered by Frank Rosato

Graphics by: Carl André Beckston (MonoWasp)
Photos: Sune Ekstrand

Japanese release:
Marquee/Avalon MICP-11022

European release:
AOR Heaven MHV00066

All rights reserved GodisPåScen AB.

Copyright (c) 2005 GodisPåScen.se. All rights reserved. Back to Top | Bookmark